Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Systematic Review: 3d. Zoekactie omzetten naar andere databank

Systematisch zoeken naar literatuur voor onderzoek

Inleiding

Hieronder vind je informatie over het omzetten van ..... naar een andere databank.

EBSCO en OVID hebben elk een eigen syntax, die voor de databases te gebruiken is (zie hieronder).

 

Toegankelijk via HAN Studiecentra

EBSCO

- Use the Advanced search tab for search syntax

-N2 is the proximity operator (2 words between the search terms)

-W2 takes word order into account (N2 does not)

-" " = the exact word(s); to avoid lemmatization. In other words, if you don’t use these, EBSCO will add singular/plural and related search terms (coloralso find colors, and childalso finds youngster). Please note that you cannot use the opening and closing quotation marks (default in MS Word). You can use regular ‘straight’ quotes. Copy-paste from the database or notepad is the fasted way to get the regular quotes

-* = 0 –unlimited number of characters i.e. comput*finds the words computer or computing; may also be used between words to match any word: midsummer * dreamwill return results that contain the exact phrase, a midsummer night’s dream.NB. ("midsummer" N1 "dream") yields the same results

-? = 1 letter i.e. ne?tfinds all citations containing neat, nest or next, but does not find net

-?? = 2 letters

-# = 0 or 1 letter i.e. colo#rfinds all citations containing color or colour; colo#r will not search "colors" and "colours" will not be searched (which they are by default when using the singular "color" or "colour" without "" or another wildcard operator)

-## = 0 -2 letters

-Uncheck the checkboxes ‘related terms’ and ‘search full text’ (although in my (JS) experience, this is not necessary as long as you specify the fields (TI, AB) and use quotation marks to avoid lemmatization)

PubMed

"subject heading"[mesh] OR "search term*"[tiab]

- NOT medline[SB]

Medline Ebsco

MH("subject heading") OR TI("search term*" N2 "word*") OR AB("search term*" N2 "word*") OR SU("search term*" N2 "word*")

PsycINFO Ebsco

DE("subject heading") OR TI("search term*" N2 "word*") OR AB("search term*" N2 "word*") OR SU("search term*" N2 "word*")

Cinahl Ebsco

MH("subject heading") OR TI("search term*" N2 "word*") OR AB("search term*" N2 "word*") OR SU("search term*" N2 "word*")

NB. there’s an option to exclude Medline records in the advanced search

ERIC EBSCO

DE("subject heading") OR TI("search term*" N2 "word*") OR AB("search term*" N2 "word*") OR KW("search term*" N2 "word*")

 

NB. Useful additions

-the test and measures field are probably included in the identifier field (ZW) since this field corresponds with the OvidSP field. This field also probably includes geographical information and legislation

-educational level (EL)

SPORTDiscus

DE("subject heading") OR TI("search term*" N2 "word*") OR AB("search term*" N2 "word*") OR SU("search term*" N2 "word*")

Academic Search Premier Ebsco

TX("search term*"N2 "word*")

Business Source Premier Ebsco

SU "subject heading" OR TI("search term*" N2 "word*") OR AB("search term*" N2 "word*") OR KW("search term*" N2 "word*")

 

NB. Due to the huge variety in phrases for subject headings in the DE field (which is exact, and also searches author supplied subject headings), I’d rather go with the SU field, supplemented with KW. But this choice depends on the search

Cochrane Library (Wiley)

("search term*" NEAR/2 "word*"):ti,ab,kw

NB. there’s no need to include the mesh headings since only Medline records contain Mesh headings

Web of Science

Thompson Reuters, Web of Science Core Collection

 

TS=("several word*"NEAR/2 "word*")-* = 0

 

–unlimited number of characters, including left

-handtruncation. Truncation in TS field requires at least 3 characters to work

-? = 1 letter

-?? = 2 letters

-$ = 0 or 1 letter

 

NB. Use the advanced search for search syntax.

NB. Check your database selection; when you enter Web of  Science, it often includes more databases (e.g. Medline, KCI-Korean Journal Database) depending on the settings of your institution.

Toegankelijk via andere bronnen

OVID

- Use the Advanced Search tab for search syntax

-ADJ3 is the proximity operator (two words between the search terms)

-* = 0 –unlimited number of characters, only works when preceded by more than 3 letters

-# = 1 letter

-## = 2 letters-? = 0 or 1 letter

-?? = 0 -2 letters

-*3 = 0-3 letters

-when there is no time for searching separate subject headings; use .ti,ab,sh. (EMBASE) or ti,ab,hw. (PsycINFO)

-Stop words (e.g. the, in) and reserve words (and, or, not, use, adj, add, sub, scope) need quotation marks"". Please note that you cannot use the opening and closing quotation marks (default in MS Word). You can use regular ‘straight’ quotes. Copy-paste from the database or notepad is the fasted way to get the regular quotes

Medline Ovid

Ovid, Epub Ahead of Print, In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations, Ovid MEDLINE(R) Daily and Ovid MEDLINE(R) 1946 to Present

subject heading/ OR (search term* ADJ3 word*).ti,ab,kf.

 

NB. Useful additions:

-Unique identifier (e.g. 23672446.ui.)

-NOT animal/ NOT human/

PsycINFO Ovid

subject heading/ OR (search term* ADJ3 word*).ti,ab,id.

NB. Useful additions:

- the test and measures field (.tm.)

- Age groups (.ag.)-Methodology (.md.)

- accession number (e.g. 2013-17202-010.an.)

- NOT animal.po NOT human.po

EMBASE Ovid

subject heading/ OR (search term* ADJ3 word*).ti,ab,kw.

 

NB. Useful additions

-clinical trial number .cn.-NOT ((animal/ OR animal experiment/ OR animal model/ OR nonhuman/) NOT human/)

-check the embase section headings .ec

ERIC Ovid

subject heading/ OR (search term* ADJ3 word*).ti,ab,id.

NB. Useful additions

-the test and measures are included in the identifier field (.id.). This field also includes geographical information and legislation. This field does contain actual keywords (as in; not test, not geographic and not legislation) so I tend to include this unless I expect problems

-educational level (.el.)

Creative Commons

CC-by Janneke Staaks 4.0