Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Information Skills: 6: Information sources

Physical sources

Books and journals can be found in various catalogues, including the catalogue of the HAN Study and Multimedia Centres and PiCarta.
Each document is accompanied by a location code, showing you where the document is located.

In the Catalogue of the HAN Study and Multimedia Centres, you will find all of the material that is available at the various branches of the multimedia centres. You can consult the catalogue via the website of the HAN Study and Multimedia Centres.

Please note: the HAN catalogue does not include journal articles. You can consult other bibliographical databases for these, such as PiCarta. These can also be accessed via the website of the HAN Study and Multimedia Centres.

The catalogue does include journal titles.
Due to the large numbers involved, the catalogue does not include all of the digital journals. The titles can be found in the online journals.

Which information sources are suitable for your literature review?

You’ve defined your search terms and you want to start your search, but in which sources should you start searching? The first question that you need to ask yourself is: what kind of information you are looking for? For example: news, statistical information, research results, facts or opinions?

Your problem statement will often define the type of information that you need for your research.
As soon as you have your search terms and know which sort of information you need, you can reflect on what would be a suitable information source.

What information? What types of information? Possible sources within HAN
Current information Newspaper articles Lexis Nexis, ...
Recent scientific information Articles in scientific journals, research reports HANQuest, databases, Google Scholar, HBO Kennisbank, ...
Research results Journal articles, dissertations, graduation reports, project descriptions HANQuest, databases, Google Scholar, HBO Kennisbank, ...
Background information (global) Books, documentaries, TV, programmes, websites, journal, articles, ... Catalogue of the HAN Study and Multimedia Centres, PiCarta, databases, Google, Google Scholar, Academia, websites, ...
Statistical information (facts) Statistics, annual reports, ... Websites of agencies, government institutes or research institutes, Google Scholar, ...

See  www.han.nl/studiecentra for a complete overview of sources

Digital sources

Search engine HANQuest
With HANQuest, you can search a large proportion of the information sources provided by the Study and Multimedia Centres in one go. You can do a general search or limit yourself to one discipline.

Digital sources
In addition to full-text databases, there are numerous databases containing facts and data. Examples include databases of addresses, statistics, material data and standards.
General databases within HAN include the following (log in with your HAN account via the website of the HAN Study and Multimedia Centres):

Academic Search, ScienceDirect, Springerlink, Web of Science, Wiley Online Library

E-books
HAN has a growing collection of e-books. These are included in the catalogue or in the special library guide to study books.

Newspapers
Newspapers are an excellent source of topical information, but you can also glean lots of information from older issues of newspapers and journals. Via the website of the study and multimedia centres, you have access to:
- LexisNexis Newsportal (digital archive of national, regional and international dailies and journals)

Dissertations
Dissertations by ex-students from a large number of degree courses can be found in the HBO Kennisbank (graduation reports from various Dutch universities of applied science)

Audio-visual sources
Information doesn’t need to be in writing, of course; audio-visual material can also contain lots of very useful information. This includes documentaries and current affairs programmes on television, for example.
The HAN Study and Multimedia Centres also give access to video streaming, i.e., audio-visual material that you can watch via the Internet. E.g.:  HAN Video and Academia