Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International Social Work year 1 - searching and finding reliable literature: 3. Find

Databases for Social Work students

The website of the HAN study centres (www.han.nl/studiecentres) gives you, as a HAN student, access to a wide range of databases where you can find reliable, scientific literature. Many of these databases can be searched directly in the HANQuest search engine (see green table below).

However, a small number of databases are not included by HANQuest, so you will need to search them separately. One example is the Nexis Uni database where you can search English-language newspapers (e.g. for keeping abreast of what is happening in society). You can learn how to use this database under the Nexis Uni tab.

If you want a complete overview of important websites and databases in the field of social work, go to the option 'databases' on the homepage of the Study centre's website and enter the word: ISW.

No results in HANQuest for:

HANQuest does not search the following databases:
- Nexis Uni
- Web of Science
- Embase 
- Boomportaal

HANQuest does not search websites

Please be aware that HANQuest does not search websites.
This means that websites of oganizations with a lot of valuable information should be searched seperately.

Databases that HANQuest searches