Skip to main content

Full text search: 1. By HAN collection

Access to the full text of articles anywhere

Articles are in databases. These databases are not freely and publicly accessible but are linked to subscriptions. For HAN students and staff the HAN study centres manage these subscriptions.
In order to make use of the databases, you must identify yourself as a HAN student or staff member. This can be done by using HAN's IP addresses or by logging in with your HAN account.

If you work within the HAN on a HAN computer or your own laptop, you will probably use Eduroam as a WiFi network. This will automatically recognize your computer as a HAN computer and give you access to the databases.

When you work outside the HAN on your own computer, there are other possibilities to be recognized as a HAN student/employee. On this libguide you will find some tips for optimal access to (the full text of) articles, especially if you are conducting your literature research from home on your own computer.

 

Tip 1: Use Workspace

If you work at home via Workspace, you will be recognized as a HAN student/employee because you are logged in with your HANAccount. When searching for literature, you will always have direct access to the full text of the article if it is available through our databases.

To be able to work via Workspace, you need to download a program on your computer. You can find an explanation on HAN Insite.‚Äč (in dutch)

Tip 3: Go to the database via the website of the HAN Study Centres

If you find an article from a certain database via Google, you may not be able to open it. Open the database in question via the website of the HAN Study Centres and log in from there with your HANAccount.

You can also copy the title of the article, paste it into HANQuest and go from there to the full text. 

 

Tip 2: Use HAN Quest

HANQuest is HAN's search engine. It searches a large number of subject-specific databases at once. Search directly in HANQuest and not via Google. 

Tip 4: Search via online journals

Direct link to online journals

Place the title of the journal in the search bar (not the title of the article) and click on search. Open the journal and search for the article in question: by year, month of publication, page numbers, etc.