Bancroft's Theory and Practice of Histological Techniques door
For 40 years, Bancroft's Theory and Practice of Histological Techniques has established itself as the standard reference for histotechnologists and laboratory scientists, as well as histopathologists. With coverage of the full range of histological techniques used in medical laboratories and pathology departments, it provides a strong foundation in all aspects of histological technology - from basic methods of section preparation and staining, to advanced diagnostic techniques such as immunocytochemistry and molecular testing. This revised and updated 8th Edition by Kim S. Suvarna, Christopher Layton, and John D. Bancroft is a one-stop reference for all those involved with histological preparations and applications, from student to highly advanced laboratory professional. Presents a thorough, up-to-date, and detailed approach to the theory and protocols for preparing cells and tissues for laboratory evaluation, covering topics ranging from basic to advanced Features new content on automation (computer logging and tracking, sub-sampling and archiving of samples), digital scanning techniques for slides used in remote/telepathology, and specialist molecular techniques. Provides superb visual guidance through the use of vivid color illustrations, including additional illustrations of diagnostic modalities and techniques. Contains more summary tables, charts, and boxes throughout for quick reference. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Basisvaardigheden Wiskunde
Basisvaardigheden Wiskunde Basisvaardigheden wiskunde is voor elke hbo-student dé voorbereiding voor de studie. Geschikt voor zelfstudie Per twee pagina's wordt één onderwerp behandeld met duidelijke uitleg, voorbeelden en opdrachten. Oefen op de website net zo lang totdat je de stof beheerst. Handig naslagwerk Door de overzichtelijke opbouw van de stof en de duidelijke praktijkvoorbeelden is Basisvaardigheden Wiskunde ook tijdens de rest van je studie en daarna een handig naslagwerk. Doe nu de toets wiskunde! Gratis instaptoets: check je wiskundevaardigheden! Met de unieke code aan de binnenzijde van dit boek krijg je toegang tot de digitale ondersteuning via www.basisvaardighedenwiskunde. noordhoff.nl Maak de gratis instaptoets en ontdek over welke wiskundevaardigheden je wel en niet beschikt. Advies op maat De instaptoets geeft je advies over de vaardigheden die je moet bijspijkeren. Je bestudeert dus alleen die onderwerpen die je niet voldoende beheerst.
Bioinformatics and Functional Genomics door
The bestselling introduction to bioinformatics and genomics - now in its third edition Widely received in its previous editions, Bioinformatics and Functional Genomics offers the most broad-based introduction to this explosive new discipline. Now in a thoroughly updated and expanded third edition, it continues to be the go-to source for students and professionals involved in biomedical research. This book provides up-to-the-minute coverage of the fields of bioinformatics and genomics. Features new to this edition include: Extensive revisions and a slight reorder of chapters for a more effective organization A brand new chapter on next-generation sequencing An expanded companion website, also updated as and when new information becomes available Greater emphasis on a computational approach, with clear guidance of how software tools work and introductions to the use of command-line tools such as software for next-generation sequence analysis, the R programming language, and NCBI search utilities The book is complemented by lavish illustrations and more than 500 figures and tables - many newly-created for the third edition to enhance clarity and understanding. Each chapter includes learning objectives, a problem set, pitfalls section, boxes explaining key techniques and mathematics/statistics principles, a summary, recommended reading, and a list of freely available software. Readers may visit a related Web page for supplemental information such as PowerPoints and audiovisual files of lectures, and videocasts of how to perform many basic operations: www.wiley.com/go/pevsnerbioinformatics. Bioinformatics and Functional Genomics, Third Edition serves as an excellent single-source textbook for advanced undergraduate and beginning graduate-level courses in the biological sciences and computer sciences. It is also an indispensable resource for biologists in a broad variety of disciplines who use the tools of bioinformatics and genomics to study particular research problems; bioinformaticists and computer scientists who develop computer algorithms and databases; and medical researchers and clinicians who want to understand the genomic basis of viral, bacterial, parasitic, or other diseases.
Data Mining door
Data Mining: Practical Machine Learning Tools and Techniques, Fourth Edition, offers a thorough grounding in machine learning concepts, along with practical advice on applying these tools and techniques in real-world data mining situations. This highly anticipated fourth edition of the most acclaimed work on data mining and machine learning teaches readers everything they need to know to get going, from preparing inputs, interpreting outputs, evaluating results, to the algorithmic methods at the heart of successful data mining approaches. Extensive updates reflect the technical changes and modernizations that have taken place in the field since the last edition, including substantial new chapters on probabilistic methods and on deep learning. Accompanying the book is a new version of the popular WEKA machine learning software from the University of Waikato. Authors Witten, Frank, Hall, and Pal include today's techniques coupled with the methods at the leading edge of contemporary research. Please visit the book companion website at https://www.cs.waikato.ac.nz/~ml/weka/book.html. It contains Powerpoint slides for Chapters 1-12. This is a very comprehensive teaching resource, with many PPT slides covering each chapter of the book Online Appendix on the Weka workbench; again a very comprehensive learning aid for the open source software that goes with the book Table of contents, highlighting the many new sections in the 4th edition, along with reviews of the 1st edition, errata, etc.
Fundamentals of General, Organic and Biological Chemistry in SI Units
For courses in General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry (2 - Semester) A Clear, Flexible Approach to Chemistry for the Modern Classroom Active learning, an increased focus on clinical examples, updates based on current teaching and research findings, and digital innovations designed to engage and personalize students'experience make Fundamentals of General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry simply the best choice for students with a future in allied health. With the Eighth Edition, the authors make learning chemistry a more active experience through features designed to get students doing chemistry. Every chapter features Hands on Chemistry sections that deepen students'understanding of chemistry by having them perform elementary experiments with everyday household items. Group Problemsat the end of every chapter are designed for in-class use and motivate students toward higher level thinking, such as how concepts fit together and how to apply these concepts in a clinical application. All of the chapter openers, including many of the Chemistry in Action boxes and end-of-chapter problems, have been rewritten for a stronger clinical focus that provides more relevance to allied health majors. All content has been updated for the modern classroom with special attention to the biochemistry chapters, making the Eighth Edition of Fundamentals of General, Organic and Biological Chemistry the best choice for future allied health students. MasteringChemistry™ not included. Students, if MasteringChemistry is a recommended/mandatory component of the course, please ask your instructor for the correct ISBN and course ID. MasteringChemistry should only be purchased when required by an instructor. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information.MasteringChemistry is an online homework, tutorial, and assessment system, designed to improve results by engaging students before, during, and after class with powerful content. Instructors ensure students arrive ready to learn by assigning educationally effective content before class, and they encourage critical thinking and retention with in-class resources such as Learning Catalytics™.
IGenetics: Pearson New International Edition : A Molecular Approach
With its modern chapter organization and new “Focus on Genomics” boxes, iGenetics: A Molecular Approach reflects the increasing molecular emphasis in today's experimental study of genes while helping students develop problem-solving skills and an appreciation for classic experiments. Although molecular topics are presented first, instructors can assign the chapters in any sequence. Pedagogical features such as chapter-opening “Key Questions” and strategically placed “Keynotes” help students to efficiently master genetic concepts. The Genetics Place Companion Website contains interactive iActivities and narrated animations that help students visualize and understand processes and concepts that are illustrated in the text.
Introduction to Modern Virology door
Praised forits clarity of presentation and accessibility, Introduction to Modern Virology has been a successful student text for over 30 years. It provides a broad introduction to virology, which includes the nature of viruses, the interaction of viruses with their hosts and the consequences of those interactions that lead to the diseases we see. This new edition contains a number of important changes and innovations including: The consideration of immunology now covers two chapters, one on innate immunity and the other on adaptive immunity, reflecting the explosion in knowledge of viral interactions with these systems. The coverage of vaccines and antivirals has been expanded and separated into two new chapters to reflect the importance of these approaches to prevention and treatment. Virus infections in humans are considered in more detail with new chapters on viral hepatitis, influenza, vector-borne diseases, and exotic and emerging viral infections, complementing an updated chapter on HIV. The final section includes three new chapters on the broader aspects of the influence of viruses on our lives, focussing on the economic impact of virus infections, the ways we can use viruses in clinical and other spheres, and the impact that viruses have on the planet and almost every aspect of our lives. A good basic understanding of viruses is important for generalists and specialists alike. The aim of this book is to make such understanding as accessible as possible, allowing students across the biosciences spectrum to improve their knowledge of these fascinating entities.
Mims' Medical Microbiology and Immunology door
Learn all the microbiology and basic immunology concepts you need to know for your courses and exams. Now fully revised and updated, Mims' clinically relevant, systems-based approach and abundant colour illustrations make this complex subject easy to understand and remember. Learn about infections in the context of major body systems and understand why these are environments in which microbes can establish themselves, flourish, and give rise to pathologic changes. This systems-based approach to microbiology employs integrated and case-based teaching that places the 'bug parade' into a clinical context. Effectively review for problem-based courses with the help of chapter introductions and 'Lessons in Microbiology' text boxes that highlight the clinical relevance of the material, offer easy access to key concepts, and provide valuable review tools. Approach microbiology by body system or by pathogen through the accompanying electronic 'Pathogen Parade' - a quickly searchable, cross-referenced glossary of viruses, bacteria and fungi A new electronic 'Vaccine Parade' offers quick-reference coverage of the most commonly used vaccines in current clinical practice Deepen your understanding of epidemiology and the important role it plays in providing evidence-based identification of key risk factors for disease and targets for preventative medicine. Grasp and retain vital concepts easily, with a user-friendly colour coded format, succinct text, key concept boxes, and dynamic illustrations. New and enhanced information reflects the growing importance of the human microbiota and latest molecular approaches Access the complete contents on the go via the accompanying interactive eBook, with a range of bonus materials to enhance learning and retention - includes self-assessment materials and clinical cases to check your understanding and aid exam preparation.
Plant Pathology door
This fifth edition of the classic textbook in plant pathology outlines how to recognize, treat, and prevent plant diseases. It provides extensive coverage of abiotic, fungal, viral, bacterial, nematode and other plant diseases and their associated epidemiology. It also covers the genetics of resistance and modern management on plant disease. Plant Pathology, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive resource and textbook that professionals, faculty and students can consult for well-organized, essential information. This thoroughly revised edition is 45% larger, covering new discoveries and developments in plant pathology and enhanced by hundreds of new color photographs and illustrations.
Practical Bioinformatics door
Practical Bioinformatics is specifically designed for biology majors, with a heavy emphasis on the steps required to perform bioinformatics analysis to answer biological questions. It is written for courses that have a practical, hands-on element and contains many exercises (for example, database searches, protein analysis, data interpretation) to complement the straightforward and practical topics. The chapters are focused on DNA, RNA, and protein sequence analysis--frequently performed subsets of the field of bioinformatics--taking the reader through the commonly asked question "what can I learn about this sequence?" A special note to established scientists: new genomic sequences are being published at an accelerating pace. Although new technology has led to unprecedented accuracy of the sequence, incomplete and challenging assemblies along with imperfect predictive methods are still generating gene models that require verification. With the sequence analysis skills learned from this book, features such as missing exons and incorrect termini can be easily recognized and more accurate gene models can be constructed.
Practical Skills in Biomolecular Science door
If you are studying the biomolecular sciences - including biochemistry, biomedical sciences, biotechnology, genetics, microbiology and molecular biology - then this book will be an indispensable companion throughout the whole of your degree programme. It provides effective explanation and support for the development of a wide range of laboratory and data analysis skills that you will use time and again during the practical aspects of your studies. This book also gives you a solid grounding in the broader transferable skills, which are increasingly necessary to achieve a high level of academic success.
Principles of Instrumental Analysis door
PRINCIPLES OF INSTRUMENTAL ANALYSIS, 7th Edition, places an emphasis on operating principles of each type of instrument, its optimal area of application, its sensitivity, its precision, and its limitations. You'll also learn about elementary analog and digital electronics, computers, and the treatment of analytical data.
Statistics for the Life Sciences, Global Edition
For introductory undergraduate or graduate courses in statistics aimed at life science majors. Bringing Statistics to LifeThe Fifth Edition of Statistics for the Life Sciences uses authentic examples and exercises from a wide variety of life science domains to give statistical concepts personal relevance, enabling students to connect concepts with situations they will encounter outside the classroom. The emphasis on understanding ideas rather than memorizing formulas makes the text ideal for students studying a variety of scientific fields: animal science, agronomy, biology, forestry, health, medicine, nutrition, pharmacy, physical education, zoology and more. In the fifth edition, randomization tests have been moved to the fore to motivate the inference procedures introduced in the text. There are no prerequisites for the text except elementary algebra.
Problemen bij het bekijken?
Neem contact op met Digitaal.Studiecentrum@han.nl